DUI Defense Lawyers
The criminal defense team at Brass & Cordova in Salt Lake City has extensive experience representing clients charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Utah. With over 45 years of combined criminal law experience, we are well-qualified to handle all types of DUI charges, whether a first or fourth offense or whether alcohol, drugs, or both were involved in an arrest.
Facing DUI Charges in Utah
In Utah, the penalties for even a first DUI are severe. You must go to jail for 48 hours or complete 48 hours of a work service program, submit to home confinement with electronic monitoring, do community service, participate in a drug or alcohol assessment program, pay a fine of $1,340, and in some cases, complete treatment for substance abuse. Your driver's license will also be suspended for 120 days.
For a second offense, the standard sentence is 240 hours of jail time or 240 hours of work service, home confinement, a minimum fine of $1500, and driver's license suspension for two years. You may also be placed on probation and required to undergo alcohol and drug screenings and/or treatment. A third DUI offense carries a possible sentence of 1,500 hours in jail, $1,500 in fines, and driver's license suspension for two years. Your vehicle will also be installed with an ignition interlock device for three years if you are found guilty of DUI within 10 years of the previous offense.
In a DUI case, the driver's license suspension process is civil in nature, and separate from criminal proceedings. An important aspect of our representation is assisting clients in hearings before the Driver's License Division in order to limit consequences to their driver's licenses.
Refusing to Take a Breathalyzer Test
Refusing to take a breathalyzer test when requested by a law enforcement officer is generally a violation of Utah's implied consent law, which requires drivers to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test if an arresting officer has probable cause to believe you that were driving under the influence. Upon refusal, your driver's license will be revoked, but you will receive a temporary 29 day permit, and you can challenge the suspension of your driver's license if you request a Drivers License Division hearing within 10 days of the arrest.
We have experience representing clients in all phases of a DUI prosecution, from the license suspension hearing to plea negotiations to trial. Our clients' best interests are at the heart of every case we handle, and our attorneys work tirelessly to identify and obtain the best outcome in any circumstances.
Seek Experienced, Aggressive Representation
If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI, you need experienced legal counsel to help you achieve the result that has the fewest consequences on your life and future. Do not hesitate to contact Brass & Cordova for a free initial consultation. The sooner we start working on your defense the better your chances of retaining your driving privileges, avoiding jail time, or qualifying for an alternative sentence. For our clients, we offer flexible appointment times, including evening and weekend meetings.