Utah Misdemeanor Lawyers
The Salt Lake City criminal defense team at Brass & Cordova handles a full spectrum of criminal cases in Utah federal and state courts, including cases involving misdemeanor criminal charges. We handle misdemeanor cases with the same effort and zeal as cases involving felonies, recognizing that any criminal conviction can have a lasting negative impact on a person's future.
Types & Classes of Misdemeanor Charges in Utah
A misdemeanor is an alleged misconduct for which the law prescribes punishment of no more than one year in jail for a class A misdemeanor, six months in jail for a class B misdemeanor, or 90 days in jail for a class C misdemeanor. In Utah, violations of some state laws and many county and city ordinances are classified as misdemeanors, for example:
- Misdemeanor Theft - Misdemeanor theft crimes include theft of property valued at less than $1,000, which is a class A misdemeanor, as well as shoplifting, which is charged as a class B misdemeanor for merchandise under $300.
- Simple Assault - Simple assault is an alleged attempt, threat, or act to do bodily injury to another, involving unlawful force or violence. Assault is usually charged as a class B misdemeanor unless substantial bodily injury results or the alleged perpetrator had knowledge of the victim's pregnancy, in which case the alleged assault will likely be charged as a class A misdemeanor.
- Discharge of a Firearm - Unlawful discharge of a firearm from a vehicle near a highway, or in the direction of any person, building, or vehicle may result in class B misdemeanor charges, as well as driver's license revocation, denial, suspension, or disqualification.
- Issuing a Bad Check - Issuing a bad check or checks for a sum less than $500 over a period of less than six months is generally charged as a class B misdemeanor, while issuing a bad check or checks for a sum over $500 but less than $1,500 over a period of less than six months is a class A misdemeanor. Issuing bad checks in larger amounts will likely be classified as felonies.
- Domestic Violence - Domestic violence may be classified as a misdemeanor if the related offense, such as simple assault or criminal mischief, is also categorized as a misdemeanor. In addition to the penalties related to the alleged criminal conduct, you may also face a restraining order in a domestic violence case.
DUI and drug offenses involving possession of marijuana may also be classified as misdemeanors depending on a defendant's prior criminal record, level of intoxication, and/or amount of controlled dangerous substances (CDS) found in possession. Please see our DUI and drug offenses pages for more information about these charges.
Seek Knowledgeable, Experienced Defense Representation
If you or a loved one has been charged with a misdemeanor offense, it is almost always in your best interests to retain legal counsel. In many cases, especially if it is your first offense, the charges can be argued down or even eliminated, thus avoiding the lasting consequences of a criminal conviction on your record. Please contact Brass & Cordova today for a free initial consultation. We can provide valuable insight into your case, and help you determine your best course of action to truly put the incident behind you.